1. Sports
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Chelsea Club Profile


Jose Mourinho has won the league title in four different countries

Jose Mourinho has won the league title in four different countries

Julian Finney / Getty Images

Chelsea Roster:


1 Cech · 2 Ivanovic · 3 Cole · 4 David luiz · 6 Romeu ·7 Ramires ·8 Lampard ·9 Torres ·10 Mata ·11 Oscar ·12 Mikel ·13 Moses ·15 Malouda ·17 Hazard ·19 Ferreira ·21 Marin ·22 Turnbull ·23 Sturridge ·24 Cahill ·26 Terry ·28 Azpilicueta ·34 Bertrand ·40 Hilário ·




Since billionaire Russian oligarch Roman Abramovich swung into town in 2003 Chelsea have enjoyed the sort of success supporters must have thought they would never witness.

The club have won three Premier League titles and realized their Champions League dream in 2012.

In the summer of 2011 Chelsea sacked Carlo Ancelotti, who had won the double with the club a year earlier, and hired 33-year-old Porto coach Andre Villas-Boas.

But the job proved too much for such a young manager and in March 2012 he was sacked and replaced by assistant manager Roberto di Matteo until the end of the season.

The Italian rebuilt team spirit and steered the Blues to a penalty shoot-out victory over Bayern Munich in the Champions League final to finally realize Abramovich's dream of winning the European Cup and secure the job on a permanent basis.

After a stuttering start to the 2012-13 season, which saw the club fall at the Champions League group stage, Di Matteo was relieved of his duties and replaced by Rafa Benitez until the end of the season.

Quick Facts:

  • Founded: 1905
  • Home Ground (Capacity): Stamford Bridge (41,841)
  • Nickname: The Blues
  • Home Colors: Blue and White
  • Top Goalscorer All-Time: Frank Lampard
  • First Division/Premier League Titles: (4): 1954–55, 2004–05, 2005–06, 2009-10
  • FA Cup Titles: (7): 1970, 1997, 2000, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012
  • League Cup Titles: (4): 1964–65, 1997–98, 2004–05, 2006–07
  • European Cup: (1): 2011-12
  • Europa League: (1) 2013
  • European Cup Winners' Cup: (2) 1970–71, 1997–98
  • UEFA Super Cup: (1) 1998

The Team:

  • Current Manager: Jose Mourinho
  • Top Goalscorer 2011-2012: Frank Lampard (16 in all competitions)
  • Captain: John Terry
  • 2012-2013 League Finish: 3rd

A Little History:

Despite being formed in 1905, Chelsea had to wait 50 years for their first major trophy, in the form of a 1955 league title.

A side featuring the talents of Ron 'Chopper' Harris, Ian Hutchinson and Peter Osgood defeated Leeds United to win the 1970 FA Cup, the first in the club's history.

The 1990s saw the arrival of Ruud Gullit who won the 1997 FA Cup as manager, and Gianluca Vialli repeated the trick two years later. Both came to the club as players before making their first strides into management at Stamford Bridge. The club's supporters had been starved of success for many years, but those lucky enough to have season tickets in the 1990s were privileged to be seeing the likes of Gianfranco Zola, Marcel Desailly and George Weah turning out at the Bridge on a weekly basis.

However, it was another 50 years until they would repeat their league title success, this time under the charismatic Jose Mourinho. The Portuguese tactician won back-to-back titles in 2005 and 2006, also winning the FA Cup, and League Cup twice.


  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Soccer
  4. Leagues and Clubs
  5. Chelsea Club Profile

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.