1. Sports
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

AS Roma Club Profile


Zdeněk Zeman is in his second stint as Roma boss

Zdeněk Zeman is in his second stint as Roma boss

Dino Panato / Getty Images

AS Roma may not have won Serie A since the glorious 2000/01 season under Fabio Capello, but they have finished runners-up in the league on no fewer than six occasions since the turn of the century.

The club also have trophies to show for their swaggering style of play in the form of two Coppa Italias won under the stewardship of Luciano Spalletti.

The club's all-time leading goalscorer Francesco Totti remains the idol of their passionate following. His influence on the field may have waned in his advancing years, but he remains a cult figure at the Stadio Olimpico.

In the summer of 2012 former coach Zdeněk Zeman replaced Luis Enrique, ushering in an exciting period in the club’s history.

Quick Facts:

  • Founded: 1927
  • Home Ground (Capacity): Stadio Olimpico, Rome (72,698)
  • Nicknames: Giallorossi (Yellow and Reds), La Maggica (The Magic One), i Lupi (The Wolves)
  • Home Colors: Yellow and Red
  • Top Goalscorer All-Time: Francesco Totti
  • First Division/Serie A Titles: (3) 1941–42; 1982–83; 2000–01
  • Italian Cup/Coppa Italia Titles: (9) 1963–64; 1968–69; 1979–80; 1980–81; 1983–84; 1985–86; 1990–91; 2006–07; 2007–08
  • European Cup/Champions League: None
  • UEFA Cup Winners Cup: None
  • Fairs Cup/UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League: (1) 1960–61

The Team:

  • Current Coach: Zdeněk Zeman
  • Top Goalscorer 2011-2012: Pablo Osvaldo (11 in all competitions)
  • Captain: Francesco Totti
  • 2011-2012 League Finish: 7th

AS Roma Squad:

1 Lobonț ·4 Bradley ·5 Castán ·7 Marquinho ·8 Lamela ·9 Osvaldo ·10 Totti (c) ·11 Taddei ·13 Goicoechea ·15 Pjanić ·16 De Rossi ·17 Nico López ·20 Perrotta ·22 Destro ·23 Piris ·24 Stekelenburg ·26 Tallo ·27 Dodô ·29 Burdisso ·42 Balzaretti ·46 Romagnoli ·47 Lucca ·48 Florenzi ·55 Švedkauskas ·77 Tachtisidis ·

A Little History:

AS Roma was founded in 1927, with three clubs merged into one in an effort to form a club capable of taking on the more dominant Northern Italian outfits.

After finishing as runners-up twice in the 1930s, the club claimed its first Scudetto title in 1942, with the goals of local player Amedeo Amadei vital in this success.

The club suffered it's only relegation in 1951, but were promoted back into Serie A at the first time of asking under Giuseppe Viani.

A decade after being relegated, Roma won the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup by beating Birmingham City 4-2 in the final. The club's first Coppa Italia was not long in coming as they beat Torino 1-0 three years later.

Despite more success in the cup, Roma were unable to perform consistently in Serie A and it wasn't until the 1980-81 season when they finished runners up to Juventus that the Giallorossi made a genuine challenge for the title once again.

Just two years later, the club won its second league title in one of the most successful eras in its history. A runners-up spot and a Coppa Italia win followed in the 1983-84 season, a campaign that marked their only appearance in the European Cup final. The match went to penalties after a 1-1 draw with Liverpool, and the Giallorossi lost out on penalties.

1991 saw an all-Italian UEFA Cup final defeat to Inter Milan, and a seventh Coppa Italia win.

The turn of the century marked heavy investment by president Franco Sensi, who added the likes of Gabriel Batistuta, Vincenzo Montella, Walter Samuel and Emerson to a team already boasting the talents of Cafu, Aldair and Totti. Il Capitano Totti was in majestic form as Roma won their third Scudetto in 2001, beating Parma 3-1 on the final day of the season and edging out Juventus by two points.

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Soccer
  4. Leagues and Clubs
  5. AS Roma Squad - Club Profile, History, Facts and AS Roma Squad

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.